Screwed Sound Post; An Awkward ADR Recording

Last month the Creativity Media team were sat in Goldcrest’s Dean Street Theatre for the mix of Reg Traviss’ Screwed staring James D’Arcy and Noel Clarke. This was my first experience in seeing everyone’s contributions melded into a final product ready for picture, the process was fascinating to watch and offered an insight into the decisions that are made at the final stage and how to pre-empt them in the editing process.

The mix involved Richard and Alex jumping in and making occasional alterations to the soundtrack, either replacing or enhancing the sound with new elements recorded from scratch or alternative material in the session.

One scene that required this intervention was a sex scene between the lead character Sam and his on-screen wife Danielle, played by Kate Magowan. The scene needed a little more skin slapping presence and was missing a vocal acknowledgement at the start of proceedings by Danielle.

Being the only woman in the studio that evening, the task of performing a little physicality and moaning fell to yours truly. I’d never encountered a sex scene before unless you count an awkward make out session with my good friend Patch Morrison in an ill-thought out student film I made whilst at university (I will never link to that mess, ever).

Picking up the skin Foley was an easy enough task. Upon returning home I promptly dropped my trousers, splashed my thighs with water for a sweaty, slippy surface and slapped the skin with as much romance as one can do with their socks and shoes still on.

The area where I came a little unstuck was vocalising that first moan. I had a few attempts with the best of efforts despite my flatmates’ audible giggles in the room next door, the only problem is that despite being born in the age of punk and disco, I still have a voice like a teenage boy. This was not suitable for the scene at all. One of the giggling flatmates would have to be brought in front of the mic.

This is where I must thank my lovely friend Emily Kidson for coming up with the goods where I had failed. Normally when I bring a friend in for recording they forget how to perform basic body tasks such as laughing, walking or standing remotely close to the microphone. Thankfully Emily was immune from red light syndrome and took to the task with much gusto and enjoyment, and as always, the first take was the winner.

Here’s the trailer for the film, it’s out in UK cinemas on Friday June 3rd. Other than cultivating awkwardness with my flatmates and wet slapping my inner thighs, I was given the role of assistant Foley editor on the film. It was a real joy to work on; cutting feet in prison cells, the satisfying jingle of keys and a fight scene crafted by Alex and the Foley team at Universal Sound who made me never want to go near a razor blade ever again.

Screwed has a Facebook page, as do Creativity Media here.

One response to “Screwed Sound Post; An Awkward ADR Recording

  1. Pingback: Faking orgasms… – Creativity Media

Leave a Reply

